Delhi Assembly Election 2020: Future of Veterans Captured in EVM, More Than 57% Voting

by Jeremy Spirogis
India's cleanest city for 4th consecutive time

New Delhi : Voting was held on Saturday for 70 meeting seats in Delhi. By 7 pm, greater than 57 % of the voting came about. The Election Commission spokesperson instructed on Twitter that 54.65 % polling had been performed until 6 pm. Earlier, the Commission had knowledgeable about 41.5 % voting until three o'clock within the day.

Election officers say that the voting pace was gradual within the first three hours after the polling began at eight within the morning, so the vote proportion confirmed comparatively low until midday. <! –


Strict safety restrictions had been put in place for voting and there was strict police vigil in delicate areas. It is to be recognized that the voting for the Delhi Assembly elections was to be held by 6 pm on Saturday. The counting of votes will happen on Monday.

There are 1.47 crore registered voters on this election of Delhi Assembly. A complete of 672 candidates are within the fray in Delhi, together with the ruling Aam Aadmi Party (AAP) and opposition events BJP and Congress.

For the 70 meeting seats in Delhi, there’s a triangular contest between AAP, BJP and Congress. Election officers mentioned that 41.5 % polling was held until three pm. In the primary three rounds of voting, 14.75 % voters had exercised their franchise.

In the final meeting election, Delhi had 67.08 % polling. When requested concerning the low turnout within the morning, Chief Election Commissioner Sunil Arora mentioned that after midday the polling tempo begins selecting up. Long queues had been seen outdoors polling stations in minority dominated areas like Zafarabad, Shaheen Bagh and Seelampur.

Chief Minister and nationwide convenor of Aam Aadmi Party Arvind Kejriwal voted at Rajpur Transport Authority polling station in Civil Lines space. Kejriwal, contesting from the New Delhi seat, was accompanied by spouse Sunita and son Pulkit.

He took the blessings of his mother and father earlier than going to vote. President Ram Nath Kovind, former Prime Minister Manmohan Singh, Congress President Sonia Gandhi, Rahul Gandhi, Priyanka Gandhi Vadra, West Delhi MP Parvesh Verma and State BJP President Manoj Tiwari additionally voted. Union Ministers S.Okay. Jaishankar, Hardeep Singh Puri additionally voted.

Leave a Comment