Former England captain raised questions on ICC World Cup Super League format

by Jeremy Spirogis
India's cleanest city for 4th consecutive time

The International Cricket Council (ICC) began the ODI International Super League on Monday, which is able to determine the groups collaborating within the 2023 Men's World Cup. Host India and 7 high groups will get direct entry to the World Cup.

This all-rounder was able to have his finger amputated to play within the World Cup

Former England captain Michael Atherton believes that the ICC CC ODI Super League is 'very difficult' and the governing physique of the sport is predicted to host the 2023 World Cup to be held in India. ) Should have created a easy qualification system. <! –


Super League will start with ODI collection between England and Ireland

The Super League will start with a collection between the world champions England and Ireland beginning on 30 July. Atherton instructed Sky Sports Cricket, "Whatever happens there is a logic behind it but it gets quite complicated because you try to connect the two systems together."

He stated, 'You had the ICC Global Competitions – World Cup, World T20 and Champions Trophy – and you are attempting to narrate it to the same old bilateral collection which is a part of the Future Tour Program (FTP) the place every workforce play one another. Plays in opposition to. '

13 groups will take part within the Super League

Atherton stated, "It is very difficult to connect these two things and eventually it happens." There will probably be 13 groups collaborating within the Super League which incorporates 12 full members of the ICC and the Netherlands. Netherlands received the World Cricket Super League 2015-17 and made it to the Super League. Each workforce within the Super League will play 4 collection of three matches at residence and 4 abroad.

The 5 groups who fail to qualify instantly from the Super League will compete with 5 affiliate groups in qualifier 2023 and two of them will qualify for the 10 groups World Cup to be held in India.

Each workforce will get 10 factors for profitable

Each workforce will get 10 factors for the win whereas 5 factors will probably be awarded for the tie, bettija and the canceled matches. No factors will probably be awarded for defeat. The groups will probably be ranked on the premise of scores from eight collection. Rules have been put in place to find out if two or extra groups have the identical variety of factors.

Afghanistan Cricket Board sacked the Chief Executive Officer

Atherton, a 52-year-old former England batsman who scored 7728 runs in 115 Tests, stated a barely much less complicated system would have made it simpler for folks to know.

Strauss stated – it’s unattainable to implement a easy system

Former England captain Andrew Strauss, a part of the ICC's cricket committee, stated that it was unattainable to implement a seamless system and that the governing physique must face criticism. He stated, 'It is sensible to attempt to discover any spontaneous course of however it’s not doable.'

Leave a Comment