Javed Akhtar turns into first Indian to win Richard Dawkins Award

by Jeremy Spirogis
India's cleanest city for 4th consecutive time

Javed Akhtar wins Richard Dawkins Award 2020& 

Key Highlights

  • Javed Akhtar gained Richard Dawkins Award 2020
  • He is the one Indian who has gained the award thus far
  • The poet obtained the award for important pondering, advancing human progress and humanist values

Another golden feather added to Javed Akhtar’s already adorned hat. The poet-lyricist has obtained the distinguished Richard Dawkins Award 2020. With this award, he turns into the solely Indian to have obtained the honour thus far. Akhtar received the award for “important pondering, holding spiritual dogma as much as scrutiny, advancing human progress and humanist values.” American comic Bill Maher and thinker Christopher Hitchens are the earlier recipients of the Richard Dawkins Award.

Akhtar, who has all the time raised his voice towards injustice, shared in a latest interview that he didn’t anticipate that he shall be getting this award as he didn’t know that individuals have been taking discover of his work. 

Akhtar usually finds himself amid controversies for his tweets about Tablighi Jamaat, Islamophobia and different social points however he by no means stops placing his opinions on the market. Even in interviews, he does not draw back from making feedback about present political points and he does not mince his phrases. And this award is given to those that publicly discuss secularism and rationalism.

As the comfortable information surfaced on-line, the veteran’s followers and associates took to social media to congratulate him. Anil Kapoor, who’s near the poet, penned a congratulatory notice which learn, “Knowing that Richard Dawkins has been your hero since you read ‘The Selfish Gene’, the prestigious Richard Dawkins Award must be extra special for you @Javedakhtarjadu Saab! It’s a truly incredible honour! Congratulations!” Check it out beneath:

Talking concerning the award, Javed’s spouse Shabana Azmi mentioned, “This is a huge honor.” 


The award is known as after English evolutionary biologist Richard Dawkins. According to Centre for Inquiry (CFI), ”The recipient shall be a distinguished particular person from the worlds of science, scholarship, schooling or leisure, who publicly proclaims the values of secularism and rationalism, upholding scientific fact wherever it might lead.”

Leave a Comment