Maharashtra: Chief Minister Uddhav Thackeray elected MLC, no risk to chair now

by Jeremy Spirogis
Arvind Kejriwal condemned mob attack on Nankana Sahib Gurdwara

Mumbai: MLC (MLA Election Maharashtra) has been chosen in Maharashtra CM Uddhav Thackeray. As quickly as MLC (Legislative Council Member) was elected, the chair of Uddhav Thackeray was not in peril. Till now he was not a member of any House. Due to this, there was a hazard in his CM chair. With this election, 59-year-old Uddhav Thackeray grew to become a member of the legislature for the primary time. He can also be the president of Shiv Sena. He was sworn in as Chief Minister on November 28 final yr and was required to turn out to be a member of both of the 2 homes of the Legislature earlier than May 27.

Maharashtra Chief Minister Uddhav Thackeray and eight different candidates from the ruling and opposition events had been declared elected unopposed to the State Legislative Council on Thursday. <! –

                 All these candidates had been within the fray for the 9 seats of the Legislative Council which had been vacated on 24 April and for which elections had been to be held on Thursday. The election course of began on May four to fill the vacant seats after the completion of the time period of 9 members.

The election course of was initially postponed as a consequence of Corona virus epidemic. State Governor BS Koshyari had lately written a letter to the Election Commission requesting that the Legislative Council maintain elections in order that Thackeray might fulfill the constitutional provision of being elected to the legislature inside six months of changing into the Chief Minister. Nomination papers had been filed by 14 candidates for 9 seats. While scrutiny of papers, the candidature of 1 candidate was rejected, whereas BJP's Ajit Gopchade and Sandeep Lele, NCP's Kiran Pavaskar and Shivajirao Garje withdrew their nominations on May 12.

After this, solely 9 candidates left the sphere, together with Uddhav Thackeray and Neelam Gore from Shiv Sena, Ranjit Singh Mohite Patil, Gopichand Padalkar, Ajit Datke and Ramesh Karad from BJP. Among the candidates to be elected unopposed are NCP's Shashikant Shinde and Amol Mitkari and Congress's Rajesh Rathore. "They were all elected unopposed," mentioned an official. He mentioned the outcomes had been formally introduced after the deadline for withdrawal of nominations expired at three pm.

Earlier, the state cupboard had initially beneficial that the governor nominate Thackeray to the Legislative Council along with his quota. Despite two suggestions, the Governor didn’t nominate Thackeray within the higher home of the Legislature, which was criticized by the ruling Maharashtra Vikas Aghadi constituents. Thackeray additionally spoke to Prime Minister Narendra Modi on this regard and demanded his intervention.

Leave a Comment