Maharashtra disaster averted, Uddhav Thackeray grew to become unopposed MLC; Record made on this case!

by Jeremy Spirogis
India's cleanest city for 4th consecutive time

Mumbai: Maharashtra Chief Minister Uddhav Thackeray and eight different candidates from the ruling and opposition events had been declared elected unopposed to the state legislative council on Thursday. All these candidates had been within the fray for the 9 seats of the Legislative Council which had been vacated on 24 April and for which elections had been to be held on subsequent Thursday. The election course of began on May four to fill the vacant seats after the completion of the time period of 9 members. The election course of was initially postponed as a result of Corona virus epidemic.

It is mostly seen that first the daddy turns into an MLA or MP and after years his son turns into an MLA. <! –

                 But it’s the other way up in Maharashtra. Uddhav Thackeray is probably the primary father to grow to be MLC after his son Aditya. Uddhav is the second particular person to grow to be an MLA on behalf of the Thackeray household.

Uddhav Thackeray grew to become the Chief Minister of Maharashtra on 28 November. According to the rule, he was required to grow to be a member of both House of Assembly or Legislative Council earlier than six months i.e. 28 May. He selected the trail of the Legislative Council as an alternative of the Legislative Assembly. He can be the president of Shiv Sena. State Governor BS Koshyari had just lately written a letter to the Election Commission requesting that the Legislative Council maintain elections in order that Thackeray may fulfill the constitutional provision to be elected within the legislature inside six months of turning into the Chief Minister.

Nomination papers had been filed by 14 candidates for 9 seats. While scrutiny of papers, the candidature of 1 candidate was rejected, whereas BJP's Ajit Gopchade and Sandeep Lele, NCP's Kiran Pavaskar and Shivajirao Garje withdrew their nominations on May 12. After this, solely 9 candidates left the sphere, together with Uddhav Thackeray and Neelam Gore from Shiv Sena, Ranjit Singh Mohite Patil, Gopichand Padalkar, Praveen Datke and Ramesh Karad from BJP. Among the candidates to be elected unopposed are Shasikant Shinde and Amol Mitkari of NCP and Rajesh Rathore of Congress.

The outcomes had been formally introduced after the deadline for withdrawal of nominations expired at three pm. Earlier, the state cupboard had initially advisable that the governor nominate Thackeray to the Legislative Council along with his quota. Despite two suggestions, the Governor didn’t nominate Thackeray within the higher home of the Legislature, which was criticized by the constituents of the ruling Maharashtra Vikas Aghadi. Thackeray additionally spoke to Prime Minister Narendra Modi on this regard and demanded his intervention.

Leave a Comment