On This Day in 1984: India created historical past by defeating Pakistan, made Asia's king

by Jeremy Spirogis
‘Counting On’: Jessa Duggar Shared That Her Parents Get the Kids Beef Jerky as Part of Their Christmas Gift

Today (April 13) could be very particular for the Indian cricket crew. In the captaincy of Sunil Gavaskar, Team India received the Asia Cup title for the primary time after defeating their arch-rivals Pakistan almost 36 years in the past. <! –

                 Kapil Dev, who made India the world champion in 1983, was not enjoying on this event as a result of harm.

The Asia Cup was first held in 1984. Three groups from Asia together with India, Pakistan and Sri Lanka took half on this event held in Sharjah from 6-13 April. The Sharjah Cricket Association hosted an ODI for the primary time.

This event was performed within the spherical robin format, during which everybody needed to play one match one another. Only three matches have been performed within the sequence. The Indian crew had received the title after being on prime within the factors desk, India had received each their matches.

The first match of the Asia Cup was performed between Sri Lanka and Pakistan, which was received by Sri Lanka by 5 wickets. In the second match, India had defeated Sri Lanka by 10 wickets. The Indian crew, chasing a 97-run goal set by Sri Lanka, registered a victory with out shedding any wickets in 21.four overs due to the half-century innings of wicketkeeper batsman Surinder Khanna (51 *).

India achieved the excellence of changing into champions by defeating Pakistan by 54 runs within the ultimate match. Batting first, Team India scored 188 for four wickets in 46 overs on the idea of the half-century innings of Surinder Khanna (56). In response, Pakistan's crew collapsed for 134 runs in 39.four overs. For him, Mohsin Khan scored essentially the most 35 runs whereas for India, Roger Binny took essentially the most three wickets.

India is a 7-time champion

The Indian crew has received the Asia Cup event essentially the most 7 occasions. India defeated Bangladesh in 2018 and captured this trophy for the seventh time. In the ultimate match performed in Dubai, India defeated Bangladesh by three wickets. Captain Rohit Sharma scored essentially the most 48 runs for India.

Leave a Comment