Sahitya Academy awardee Alokeranjan Dasgupta passes away at 87

by Jeremy Spirogis
India's cleanest city for 4th consecutive time

Alokeranjan Dasgupta passes away&  | &nbspPhoto Credit:&nbspInstagram

Key Highlights

  • Alokeranjan Dasgupta dies at 87
  • The Bengali poet was finest identified for his translation works
  • West Bengal Chief Minister Mamata Banerjee mourned his dying

Every time we expect to ourselves that the 12 months can not get any worse than it’s already, it proves us all flawed. In an unlucky flip of occasions, Bengali poet Alokeranjan Dasgupta has handed away at his residence in Germany. The famend poet was a Sathiya Academy winner. Alokeranjan was aged 87 and is now survived by his spouse Elizabeth who broke the information about his unlucky passing away.

Dasgupta was identified for his work within the discipline of literature and performed a big in strengthening Indo-German cultural ties with translation works. This occurred after he moved to Germany on the Humboldt Foundation Fellowship and determined to settle there. Since 1971, he tutored on the South Asia Insititute of the University of Heidelberg, Germany.

His passing away has certain left a dent within the discipline of literature which was acknowledged by West Bengal Chief Minister Mamata Banerjee in her latest Tweet. The Chief Minister prolonged heartfelt condolences to the poet’s household as she wrote, “Saddened at the passing away of Sahitya Academy award-winning poet and translator Alokeranjan Dasgupta. My condolences to his family and admirers”. 

For the unversed, Alokeranjan Dasgupta has authored over 20 books with JoubanBaul in 1959 being the primary one. He has labored actively as a translator and translated Bengali and Santal performs into German and English (and vice versa). Not solely the Indian authorities but additionally the German administration honoured the celebrated poet with the Goethe Medal in 1985.

Apart from the Sahitya Academy award, Dasgupta was additionally a recipient of Ananda Purashkar (1985) the Rabindra Puraskar (1987), and Pravasi Bharatiya Samman (2005).


Leave a Comment